Skip to main content

Author Leigh Bardugo on the "Small Science" in the Grishaverse

The system of magic in Author Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow and Bone trilogy is called the “small science,” basically a magical, molecular chemistry. She wanted these stories to be about how the advent of modern warfare acts as a threat to magic and the only way magic can prevail is through a strong foundation of rules.

This video appears in:

Leigh Bardugo


Leigh Bardugo

Leigh Bardugo is a New York Times bestselling author of young adult fantasy novels and the creator of the Grishaverse. The Grishaverse spans the Shadow and Bone Trilogy, the Six of Crows Duology, and The Language of Thorns. Her other works include Wonder Woman: Warbringer and short stories that can be found in multiple anthologies.