Skip to main content
Grateful American Book Prize award silver engraving of handing holding a pen

The Grateful American Book Prize

The Grateful American™ Book Prize recognizes excellence in writing, storytelling, and illustration for children’s non-fiction and historical fiction focused on the events and personalities that have shaped the United States since the country’s founding.

About the Prize

The Grateful American Book Prize is the only award for excellence in writing, storytelling and illustration for children’s historical non-fiction and fiction focused on the events and personalities that have shaped the United States since the country’s founding.

The Prize, which was created by author and publisher David Bruce Smith and Dr. Bruce Cole, the former Chair of the National Endowment for the Humanities, consists of a $13,000 cash award in commemoration of the 13 original Colonies.

One of the prime intentions of the Prize is the restoration of history as an integral part of early education in the United States. Perhaps it will encourage a “grass roots” movement that will allow the country’s successes and failures of the past to inform the future.

For more information about the Prize, current and past winners , posts about U.S. history, book recommendations, and more, visit the Grateful American Book Prize website

2021 Grateful American Book Prize Winner: Alan Gratz

“A contemporary history lesson with the uplifting message that humanity’s survival depends on us working for, not against, one another. A must-have.” -School Library Journal

September 11, 2001, New York City: Brandon is visiting his dad at work, on the 107th floor of the World Trade Center. Out of nowhere, an airplane slams into the tower, creating a fiery nightmare of terror and confusion. And Brandon is in the middle of it all. Can he survive — and escape?

September 11, 2019, Afghanistan: Reshmina has grown up in the shadow of war, but she dreams of peace and progress. When a battle erupts in her village, Reshmina stumbles upon a wounded American soldier named Taz. Should she help Taz — and put herself and her family in mortal danger?

Two kids. One devastating day. Nothing will ever be the same.

Ground Zero Book Cover

2020 Grateful American Book Prize Winner: Sharon Robinson

Child of the Dream: A Memoir of 1963

Sharon Robinson is the daughter of baseball great Jackie Robinson. She is also the author of Child of the Dream: A Memoir of 1963, which reveals her tempestuous 13th year, living the fluctuating fortunes of the Civil Rights movement.

“Her father’s fame provided Ms. Robinson with a privileged and sometimes prejudiced life in Connecticut, but his commitment to the Civil Rights movement provided her with an understanding of the importance of embracing the cause of justice. Ms. Robinson’s chronicle is not just captivating; it also transfers a historical perspective for adolescents and adults.”— David Bruce Smith, co-founder of the Prize

Author Sharon Robinson talks about her memoir, Child of the Dream. The story explores that pivotal year through her 13-year-old eyes, events around the Civil Rights movement.

2018 Grateful American Prize Winner: L.M. Elliott

Author L.M. Elliott received the 2018 Grateful American Book Prize for Suspect Red, her historical fiction novel set during the Cold War. In this clip, Elliott talks about how historical fiction varies widely in its accuracy, and how parents and teachers can help students understand what’s true and what’s been embellished.

See our full video interview with L.M. Elliott.

Hand writing with a pen

Themed Booklists

Grateful American Book Prize Winners

The Grateful American Book Prize recognizes authors who create absorbing works of literature for 7th to 9th graders about American events and personalities.