All About Adolescent Literacy

All about adolescent literacy. Resources for parents and educators of kids in grades 4-12.
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
email this article Email  
Text Size: A A A  

A video interview with

Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell

View Transcript


Paul Stewart is an award-winning author of books for young readers — everything from picture books to football stories, fantasy and horror. His first book was published in 1988 and he has since had over fifty titles published.

Chris Riddell is an accomplished graphic artist whose distinctive line drawings, with their clever caricature, fascinating detail and often enchanting fantasy elements are familiar to both children and adults. In addition to his children's book work, Chris is a renowned political cartoonist, whose work appears regularly in UK newspapers the Observer and the Guardian, as well as The Literary Review and The New Statesman.

Together, Stewart and Riddell, are the co-creators of great fantasy books like the Far-Flung Adventures series, which includes Fergus Crane, Gold Smarties Prize Winner, Corby Flood and Hugo Pepper, both Silver Nestle Prize Winners.

Selected Books

from Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell

Beyond the Deepwoods

Age Level: 9-12

The Edge Chronicles, which includes 14 titles, begins with Beyond the Deepwoods, where we meet Twig, a human who has been raised by woodtrolls., and is now wondering about his roots. Twig's journey to discover the truth about his past introduces the wild, weird flora and fauna that make up the world that is the Edge.

Buy Beyond the Deepwoods

Barnaby Grimes: Curse of the Nightwolf

Age Level: 9-12

Barnaby Grimes is a "tick-tock lad," a messenger whose specialty is very fast deliveries, which he achieves by taking the most direct route over the rooftops otherwise known as "highstacking." In Barnaby's first adventure, his deliveries for the strange Dr. Cadwallader lead to his discovery of a monstrous secret. There are three additional books in the series.

Buy Barnaby Grimes: Curse of the Nightwolf

Fergus Crane

Age Level: 9-12

Fergus Crane, the first title in the Far Flung Adventures series, is the tale of nine-year-old Fergus Crane, an ordinary boy who happens to attend an unusual school aboard a ship. Fergus's life changes one night when a mysteriously delivered message arrives from a long-lost uncle who believes that Fergus's life is in danger. Corby Flood and Hugo Pepper are other titles in the series.

Buy Fergus Crane

Muddle Earth

Age Level: 9-12

With a bit of a nod to J.R.R. Tolkein's The Lord of the Rings, Muddle Earth follows the quest of Joe, an ordinary boy from Earth who has been summoned to Muddle Earth by the wizard Randalf to fight evil in this realm where things are quite muddled and anything can happen — from stampeding silverware to exploding gas frogs.

Buy Muddle Earth