All About Adolescent Literacy

All about adolescent literacy. Resources for parents and educators of kids in grades 4-12.
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
email this article Email  
Text Size: A A A  

A video interview with

Leigh Bardugo

View Transcript

Leigh Bardugo is a New York Times bestselling author of young adult fantasy novels and the creator of the Grishaverse. The Grishaverse spans the Shadow and Bone Trilogy, the Six of Crows Duology, and The Language of Thorns. Her other works include Wonder Woman: Warbringer and short stories that can be found in multiple anthologies.


Bardugo was born in Jerusalem, grew up in Southern California, graduated from Yale University, and has worked in advertising, journalism, and even makeup and special effects. These days, she lives and writes in Los Angeles, where she can occasionally be heard singing with her band.

Learn more at Bardugo’s official website or follow her on Instagram.

Selected Books

from Leigh Bardugo

Six of Crows

Age Level: Teen

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price–and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone… Kaz’s crew of six dangerous outcasts is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

Buy Six of Crows

King of Scars

Age Level: Teen

Nikolai Lantsov has always had a gift for the impossible. No one knows what he endured in his country’s bloody civil war—and he intends to keep it that way. Now, as enemies gather at his weakened borders, the young king must find a way to refill Ravka’s coffers, forge new alliances, and stop a rising threat to the once-great Grisha Army.

Buy King of Scars

Shadow and Bone Trilogy

Age Level: Teen

Soldier. Summoner. Saint. Follow Alina Starkov through Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm, and Ruin and Rising as she discovers her dormant powers and is swept up in a world of luxury and illusion. As Alina struggles to fit into her new life, a threat to the kingdom of Ravka grows―one that will test old alliances and challenge the very limits of magic, one that will forge a leader from a frightened girl.

Buy Shadow and Bone Trilogy

The Language of Thorns

Age Level: Teen

Inspired by myth, fairy tale, and folklore, this atmospheric collection of short stories is filled with betrayals, revenge, sacrifice, and love. These tales take the reader to lands both familiar and strange―to a fully realized world of dangerous magic that millions have visited through the novels of the Grishaverse.

Buy The Language of Thorns

Wonder Woman: Warbringer

Age Level: Teen

A coming-of-age story for one of the world’s greatest superhero: Wonder Woman. But first she is Diana, Princess of the Amazons. And her fight is just beginning… Diana longs to prove herself to her legendary warrior sisters. But when the opportunity finally comes, she throws away her chance at glory and breaks Amazon law—risking exile—to save a mere mortal.

Buy Wonder Woman: Warbringer